Tyneham has been an abandoned ghost village since the Second World War. It is situated near Lulworth on the Isle of Purbeck. Visitors can strole through the quiet surroundings and enter many of the historical buildings including cottages, a church, rectory, post-office and school, all of which were deserted by order of Churchill. Today the village is part of the Ministry of Defense Lulworth Ranges, accessible to the public only at specified times.
"Tyneham is Dorset's famous ‘lost’ village. In November 1943 notice was given to the villagers that they would be required to leave within 28 days as the area was needed for forces’ training. On 17 December 1943 the last villagers left believing that one day they would be able to return. Sadly this was never to happen. Today, the village is still part of the Army Ranges but access is allowed most weekends and all public holidays (see ‘Opening Times’). The intervening years have taken their toll. Only the church and school house remain intact. With names on the pegs and schoolwork on the desks, it feels as if only minutes ago the children had run outside to play…."
Find out more about the village here.
Call the information centre on: 01929 404819
Call Us: 01305 206196. Share: